Blog Report #1

Blogs I read:

Blue Rose Girls
Our Sixes:

This post kind of reminded me of a previous lesson we learned in class.  There’s a rule of 3s, and a rule of 7s for plot.  Now there’s a twist of six.  At least, that’s the name I would give it. Basically it’s Faulkner’s thought that a novel or story should be about six things.  I like the idea of it, as it might increase the complexity of a story.

Cynsations
Career Builder: Phyllis Root

I really love the interview here.  Even though Phyllis Root is published, she still shares all the same thoughts of unpublished writers.  I also loved the fact that she’s a lot like me when writing.  While I’m writing, I feel satisfied and like I’m having the best day ever.  No matter what I write about, it tends to relieve my stress of my day.  I could even venture to say that its my glass of wine at the end of my day.

I’ve read quite a bit of interviews with published authors, and have even had the chance to ask them the questions myself.  Every time I find that while writers claim they all have a different way of coming up with their stories and characters, they all still tend to follow the same path.  They plan, write, plan some more, write more, plan, edit, write more, edit, and then maybe they finish.  I’ve heard several other writer’s say that they have written extensively about their characters in order to understand their character’s complexity.  I’ve done the same.  I actually have a notebook where about 5-10 pages are dedicated to me figuring out my character’s background and story and reasons for why she acts the way she does.

It’s also really reassuring that I’m not the only person on the lonely boat of writing and planning.  For some reason its comforting to know that there’s another writer out there and even though they may be published, they are still struggling to get their story on paper.

*As a side note, I also realized this blog was run by someone who I personally own a book of. Its title is Tantanlize, and I loved it when I read it.  So, I’m going to be very biased and read as much of this blog as I can.

Editorial Anonymous
A Sail to Every Wind

I actually find this article extremely intriguing.  I used to volunteer at a local library and I spent a lot of my time with the librarians there, so this article hits a little close to home, so to say.  I understand that publishing itself is turning toward the electronic, though I think there will always be a market for books.  There’s just something about the smell of paper and the texture of a page on one’s fingertips.

But the transfer to reading eBooks and using eReaders is inevitable, as is the use of eBook in a library.  While I understand that that the publishers are still trying to make money, I could also argue that libraries buy 1 or more books that are paper that have infinite check-out availability.  As for Haper’s current policy on eBooks, I can agree with Editorial Anonymous that it won’t last.  It will change, but the 26 check outs a purchase will not last.

Leave a Reply

